A CALL TO PRAY

prayer1

God is looking for people to pray out His purpose at different times and seasons in our world today. But I’m afraid I have not measured up to scale in that regards. Several times I am woken up from sleep and I knew I should pray but I’d toss to and fro on the bed until I go back to sleep without praying. Yes, there are times I heed to the urge, but they are less compared to the instances I went back to bed.

I know it’s a matter of training my spirit more and I am working on that. I am also honest with God about my frailty while asking Him to change me and make me stronger in my inner man. I want to be a girl He can always count on to pray even if she has had only 30 minutes of sleep, even if she will have to sacrifice her whole night rest to pray. No, don’t get me wrong, urges to pray don’t come only at night, but that’s a period I find it hard to yield, in my own case.

Back to the main point, God is seeking for boys, girls, youths, men, women, old people etc. who will move His hand in our time. Someone will tell me no one has to move God’s hand, He can move it by Himself. That is an idiom, anyway. Besides, why did Jesus ask His disciples (that includes you and I today) to pray so that God can send workers to His (His own) harvest field (Matthew 9:38)? It is His own harvest field, yet He expects us to pray so that He can send workers there. There are a lot of things that will not happen, not only in our personal lives, if we don’t pray. That’s just an example, there are more instances in the Bible.

So, who is yielding himself/herself up for this task? If you are frail like me, just be honest and tell Him to work on you so you can be fit for His purpose. You don’t have to be a pastor or a pastor’s wife to be qualified. What qualifies you is that you are a child of God. Praying in tongues is an effective tool in this assignment, because there will be times you won’t know how to pray in your understanding about a particular matter.


©2015, Ayobami Temitope Kehinde

About Ayustoppydaykay

I am Ayobami Temitope Kehinde, a prolific writer. The posts here are my brainchildren and a lot of them have been featured on my Facebook wall and pages before now. I write inspirational stuffs, fictions, non fictions, poems and plays and sometimes I resort to humour. You may not copy any of my posts without acknowledging me as the author. Thank you for checking up my blogs. I know you will love what I have here. I can also be found on http://randompoemsofmine.blogspot.com/, http://preciousay.blogspot.com/ and http://mycollectionofyorubahymns.blogspot.com/
This entry was posted in Essay, Inspirational. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

