COPY-COPY DA DAYA

I don’t know why male humans (boys and men) are wont to be copy cats, I don’t know.

Dating back to children’s church, when we were still boys and girls, I remember clearly some songs that we girls sang and the boys sang their own versions in protest. But those songs were true, must boys always do copy-copy? Songs like:

Lojo ajinde, lojo ajinde o/On the resurrection day, on the resurrection day o

Awon obinrin lo sodo Jesu/The women went to Jesus

Awon okunrin lo sapamo (sile oti o)/The men scampered into hiding (inside the pub)

Our boys would protest:

Lojo ajinde, lojo ajinde o/ On the resurrection day, on the resurrection day o

Awon okunrin lo sodo Jesu/ The men went to Jesus

Awon obinrin lo sapamo (sile oti o)/ The women scampered into hiding (inside the pub)

Another one:

Awa la bi Jesu/3x/We gave birth to Jesus/3x

T’awon okunrin ko bi o/Whom men did not give birth to

Boys’ version:

Awa la bi Jesu/3x/ We gave birth to Jesus

T’awon obinrin ko bi o/ Whom women did not give birth to

And this one:

Eyin obinrin, e je a mura kayo wa le po ju t’okunrin lo/O ye girls, let’s strive so our joy will surpass that of boys

The boys must sing their own too:

Eyin okunrin, e je a mura kayo wa le po ju t’obinrin lo/ O ye boys, let’s strive so our joy will surpass that of girls

We would sing back and forth screaming and laughing, both genders with their own versions. But girls always won, we always won. Come to think of it, those songs were true. Who carried Jesus in her womb for nine months? Who breastfed Him? Was it not Mary, a woman? When Jesus resurrected, who first saw him? Who was bold enough to go look for his body when his male disciples were hiding away in the house out of fear that the Jews would apprehend them? Who followed Jesus to the end during his trial? It was His female disciples, they were not following from afar like few of their male counterparts did, they followed closely, cried for Him and attended to His needs.

As a young adult in my campus fellowship, I remember we used to have Sisters’ Weekend. The weekend was characterized with special programs, ranging from teachings and different kinds of talk, for sisters. We would all dress up gorgeously and take pictures at the end. It was always a program to look forward to. Before I knew it, brothers became ‘jealous’ and instead of us having our Sisters’ Weekend jejely on our own, it became Brothers’ and Sisters’ Weekend. Anyway, a o binu, we were not angry, ought we not to be mothers in the making who were expected to be accommodating? So we accommodated them. But why did they have to also sing special numbers on the day? Sisters always had special numbers for the weekend, different songs praising God for our womanhood and sometimes teasing men:

Ma dupe, ore Jesu, ma dupe/2x (I’ll give thanks for Jesus’ goodness, I’ll give thanks/2x)

O da mi l’obinrin, ko da mi lokunrin (He made me a woman, He didn’t make me a man)

Emi naa a wa di mommy ye (And oh, I will now become a mommy)

Ore Jesu ma dupe.’ (For Jesus’ goodness, I’ll give thanks)

One of our brothers who accidentally was there when we were rehearsing the song above was green with envy and he sang his own. We dealt with him, ehn.

A few years ago, I watched a song performance by the choir of St. Peter’s Cathedral, Ake, Abeokuta. In the song, women claimed to be the owners of Jesus and warned guys to leave Him for them. Again (as they always do) the guys protested claiming they owned Jesus so the ladies should leave Him for them. The argument continued. Eventually, they all agreed that Jesus belongs to all—men and women. I loved the song that first day, it was fun-filled, it reminded me of those days in the children’s church. I came across the song again last Christmas, another church choir performed it and this time it was more dramatic. I still love it. But actually, Jesus belongs to women alone, men should stop dragging Him with us, afterall we gave birth to Him. *evil grin*

Women:

Obinrin lo ni Jesu, awa la ni nnkan wa/2x

Obinrin lo ni I, obinrin lo ni I o

Obinrin lo ni Jesu, awa la ni nnkan wa

Translation

Jesus belongs to women, He is ours, our possession/2x

He belongs to women, He belongs to women o

Jesus belongs to women, He is ours, our possession

Men:

Ki lo de te ro wipe obinrin lo ni Jesu?

Ki lo de te ro wipe obinrin lo ni I?

Okunrin lo ni Jesu, awa la ni nnkan wa/2x

Okunrin lo ni I, okunrin lo ni I o

Okunrin lo ni Jesu, awa la ni nnkan wa

Translation

Why do you think Jesus belongs to women?

Why do you think He belongs to women?

Jesus belongs to men, He is ours/2x

He belongs to men, He belongs to men o

Jesus belongs to men, He is ours, our possession/2x

 

Women:

Ki lo de te ro wipe okunrin lo ni Jesu?

Ki lo de te ro wipe okunrin lo ni I?

Obinrin lo ni Jesu, awa la ni nnkan wa/2x

Obinrin lo ni I, obinrin lo ni I o

Obinrin lo ni Jesu, awa la ni nnkan wa

Translation

Why do you think Jesus belongs to men?

Why do you think He belongs to men?

 Jesus belongs to women, He is ours, our possession/2x

He belongs to women, He belongs to women o

Jesus belongs to women, He is ours, our possession

[Repeat back and forth]

All:

Gbogbo wa lo ni Jesu, awa la ni nnkan wa/2x

Gbogbo wa lo ni I, gbogbo wa lo ni I o

Gbogbo wa lo ni Jesu, awa la ni nnkan wa  

Translation

Jesus belongs to us all, He is ours, our possession/2x

He belongs to us, He belongs to us all

Jesus belongs to us all, He is ours, our possession/2x

©2015, Ayobami Temitope Kehinde

About Ayustoppydaykay

I am Ayobami Temitope Kehinde, a prolific writer. The posts here are my brainchildren and a lot of them have been featured on my Facebook wall and pages before now. I write inspirational stuffs, fictions, non fictions, poems and plays and sometimes I resort to humour. You may not copy any of my posts without acknowledging me as the author. Thank you for checking up my blogs. I know you will love what I have here. I can also be found on http://randompoemsofmine.blogspot.com/, http://preciousay.blogspot.com/ and http://mycollectionofyorubahymns.blogspot.com/
This entry was posted in Humour and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

